Assumptions Revisited

 My assumption that I made the first week have remained similar, but they have also extended. I will go through and just add my additional notes. (Original post is the very first, go back to read previous thoughts.

List of my assumptions and my changes:

1)      Librarians will have to adapt in order to stay relevant in an increasingly technologically based society.

I agree with this assumption still. I think Librarians do need to adapt to stay relevant. I think it is because of technology that they need to adapt. The only thing I will say is the way in which I now think they have to adapt. I think that they need to become community centers. Given the needs of people and what they want out of a library, I think that a library has to become something that is necessary to its patrons.

One point in time, a library was necessary in the form that most people think of it. It is still necessary in this way, but in order to be needed, it can be so much more. I think it needs to be that much more. It needs to be no more and no less than the gap of what the community needs. This is going to vary on the community (rural or urban, academic or public), but librarians need to use funds and center them on what the community needs most.

2)      A librarian’s responsibility within twenty years will hardly involve books, rather it will center on different technologies: computers, tablets, e-readers, and electronic resources.

The only part of this I would amend is the time frame. I think that yes, a lirbarians jobs will revolve around technology, and yes that is already happening, but I say it will be fifty years before it “hardly involves book.” Perhaps not even in my generation at all. Books are still important. Maybe not the most important, but still important.

3)      Libraries (specifically public and academic) will undergo such drastic changes, most people will not associate it to what we now consider a Library.

 

I am not sure how to feel about this one. I think I had a different assumption about what a library was when I walked into my master’s. I feel that libraries have already started a shift, so it won’t look too different than what we are seeing now. I guess, I take this one back.

 

4)        Despite what people say, libraries will remain relevant as they have remained relevant for centuries.

I wholeheartedly stick to this assumption!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

