Final Reflections

When I started this semester, I had no idea what was going on in the information field. I had no idea libraries were changing as much as they were. I had no idea where any of this would lead me. Now, I have three classes under my belt, and still no idea. Okay, maybe not “no idea.” I sure have more of an idea now than I did 15 weeks ago, but I realize that there is so much to learn, so much to explore, and so many opportunities.

 

I think most people have a pretty grounded idea of what it means to be librarian. 15 weeks ago, I didn’t realize that I had this grounded perception. The field is large. The scope of where you can go, what you can focus on, and where you can end up is so great, that even if I focus my studies a certain way now, I could end up somewhere completely different in 15 years. Given all the changes the field is going through, and all the changes it will always likely experience, I will probably be doing something I cannot fathom in 15 years.

 

Professionally, I can bring creativity. I have flare for it. I love using technology to put together projects. This will be my strength. I did not realize it and I probably would have hidden from it if not forced to do it, but I really like technology. I love what it can do and I love what it can allow us to create. I also love the solitude it can offer. I love working alone. I also love working with people and it offers a fun way to team up with people.

 

There are so many things that I have used for the first time this semester. I’ve known about them, but I have been pushed to try them, to explore them, and to become familiar with them in a practical way. This has been great. It has taught me so much about what technology can provide.

 

And isn’t that what we are here for as librarians, anyway? To provide information as a valuable tool? I am not sure in what way I will provide yet. I have a general idea, but who knows? Maybe I will work for a library, maybe not. I know now, as a profession, the field of Library and Information Science is huge. It’s a small world, sure, but a small world with many possibilities, wonderful literature, and maybe, just maybe, a career specific to what I like with a possibility of providing things I am good at!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

